Skip to content

Grandma was right about the honey …

November 12, 2010

Have you seen those ads? They show up on TV every year about this time–the ads with the little animated kids with little red noses scurrying all over their faces, running away from the tissue? That’s me at the moment. It’s day three of a cold, and, well, you know how that feels …

The seasons are changing and many of us are suffering colds or from the flu–and there’s that nasty stomach bug going around too. While complaining about it all to a friend, she said, “Well, Wholesome sells honey. Amber goodness: Fair Trade Organic HoneyDon’t you have any on the shelf?” She looked at me as if I’d just grown a third ear. “Of course,” … and then I remembered … my grandma always said “a spoonful of honey” could cure a cold, as well as settle adolescent nerves (she made me drink honey-sweetened tea before my first prom) and make my skin smoother, softer and pimple-free.

Last night I began experimenting with Grandma’s advice. Back when, she recommended hourly doses of honey (I’m using Wholesome’s Organic Raw Honey, of course) mixed with just a drop of lemon juice.

Today, I’m feeling, oh, so much better. As it turns out, honey has been a favorite folk remedy for thousands of years.* We’d never want you to use this information as medical advice or in place of seeing your doctor, but we found claims of honey’s properties fascinating …

To heal an abrasion or burn, dress the wound daily and cover it—honey has natural antibacterial properties that help keep wounds clean and heal more quickly. The New Zealand Dermatological Society is conducting research into broader medical applications. (Read more at http://dermnetnz.org/treatments/honey.html). Inspired and maybe just a little desperate for relief, I tested it on my poor nose (it’s been rubbed red and raw from sneezing and blowing). To my delight, raw honey worked (certainly better than any of the petroleum-based “cooling” salves or rubs), and it smelled good too!

To treat a cold, Ayurvedic texts suggest mixing honey with cinnamon; to clear sinuses, mix fresh ginger juice with honey and take a teaspoon a couple of times a day; to soothe an upset tummy, mix equal parts honey and lemon juice and sip slowly. In fact many others believe that honey and cinnamon can cure everything from pimples to certain cancers.

The American Chemical Society reported in 2004 that perhaps a little honey everyday might increase the antioxidant capacity of our blood plasma (and it’s so much sweeter than garlic). The Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry published a report in 2008 that honey might even help our bones hold calcium.

Besides that, multi-floral honeys, like Wholesome’s, are loaded with B vitamins and vitamin C (think about all those antioxidant properties), and they include traces of iron, calcium and potassium. If it’s ORGANIC, then you know that you don’t need to worry about any pesticides or herbicides in the honey … the bees are protected from chemical “nasties.”

I’m feeling better already … now off to drizzle honey in tea. Time for a Friday afternoon pick-me-up!

To your sweet health!

(* And please, no matter what anyone else says, PROMISE to never ever feed honey to a child younger than 12 months.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2011 3:35 pm

    I loved reading this post! We too enjoy many “tips” from our Grandma!! Hope you’re feeling better!

  2. February 6, 2011 1:05 pm

    I love using your product and have feature it on my blog.

    I will be posting my recipe for Banana Nut Bread Pudding using Blue Agave.

    Thank you

  3. April 9, 2011 12:35 pm

    Great post I love honey especially on peanut butter sandwiches I eat at least one everyday. I don’t get colds or flu very often maybe that’ why. Thanks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50,040 other followers

